IISc physicist S Chandrasekhar received the award

Physicist Arnab Rai Chowdhury from the Indian Institute of Science (IISc) has been selected for the Asia-Pacific Physical Society’s Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar Prize in Plasma Physics for 2022.

Chowdhury was awarded for his contribution to the development of the flux transport solar dynamo model of the 11-year sunspot cyclone. Using this model, he provided theoretical explanations for various phenomena occurring on the Sun.

Awards include a medal, a certificate and cash prize. Awards are presented at the APPC conference where the recipient delivers an invited lecture.

Chowdhury has been associated with IISc for decades now and has made significant contributions to the understanding of the solar dynamo mechanism. He authored two widely cited textbooks on astronomy and physics.

Chowdhury is an alumnus of Presidency College, Kolkata and IIT-Kanpur. He received his PhD from the University of Chicago.

Leave a Comment